REGISTER | Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In
Jain Education Workshops

JAIN EDUCATION WORKSHOPS

Vision

In 2017, the vision of Mr. Pravin K. Shah to conduct a structured learning environment with organized lesson plans for students (of any age) to gain knowledge in the Jain Principles via interactive sessions, came to life.

The first workshop was held in Raleigh, North Carolina, on a weekend in October 2017 and welcomed 49 attendees from all around the USA, and one even from the UK.

Its objective was to take Jainism beyond just being a religious identification for people, to discussing the fundamentals and how they can be applied in our daily life. The workshop nudged the attendees to challenge their limiting beliefs, and expand their understanding of Jainism, by exploring new possibilities.

The workshop did not just include mere teachings of the principles of Jainism, but it also practiced those principles. Pravinbhai insisted on imposing the least himsa as possible to our bodies, and to mother earth. He accomplished this by providing totally vegan, non-fried, healthy food, served on eco-friendly and biodegradable paper products.

The first workshop surpassed Pravinbhai’s expectations. Due to the overwhelming success and demand from the attendees to learn more, Pravinbhai conducted another 8 workshops across America in the span of 2 years.

Virtual Workshops

Pravinbhai was planning to have a more advanced series of workshops starting April 2020. However, due to the COVID-19 situation, he decided to hold virtual workshops via the WebEx platform.

These workshops are held twice a week and designed particularly for the convenience of attendees in different time zones around the world. The first workshop is held on Wednesday evenings, for the convenience of USA attendees. The second on Monday mornings (for the convenience of attendees from different countries around the world like India, UK, Australia, Kenya, UAE, etc.)

How to Join Virtual Workshops

For Wednesday sessions:

Timings: from 9:00pm - 10:00pm EST (New York time) which is 6:00-7:00pm PST (California time) and 6:30am-7:30am India time (Thursday morning

To join, Please Click: Join Wednesday Session OR join directly from www.webex.com using the meeting number option:

Meeting number: 132 962 3875
Meeting password: Mahavir

For Monday sessions:

Timings: from 11:30am - 12:30pm EST (New York time) which is 8:30-9:30am PST (California time) and 9:00pm- 10:00pm India time.

To join, Please Click: Join Monday Session OR join directly from www.webex.com using the meeting number option:

Meeting number: 132 324 2145
Meeting password: Mahavir

Impact of Virtual Workshops

  • All sessions are recorded & conducted primarily in the English language
  • All recorded sessions, which include Power point presentations and Q&A, are made available at the Jain e library website (https://jainelibrary.org/$workshop_usa/index.html) and are posted as playlists for easy accessibility on YouTube under the Jain Workshop USA channel
  • Teachers are able to get answers for their Pathshala students
  • Parents are able to provide logical answers for their children/youth in the perspective of current environments
  • People from different faiths have been able to understand and deepen their knowledge about Jainism especially as sessions are conducted in English

Workshop Topics

A wide range of topics will be covered in depth via virtual workshops:

  • Fundamentals of Jainism
  • Karma Philosophy and its practical applications
  • 4 Anuyogs in Jainism & their limitations
  • Jain Geography/Jain Universe
  • 14 Gunsthanak
  • 7 or 9 Tattvas
  • Punya & Paap Karma
  • Path of Liberation
  • Jain Way of Life
  • A Holistic approach to Jain Diet
  • Paryushan & importance of Pratikraman/Samayik
  • Jain Scriptures
  • And many more...

Contact Information

Sejal Shah

919-845-9593

jainworkshopusa@gmail.com

Pravin Shah

919-859-4994

jainaedu@gmail.com