REGISTER   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search
JAINA Special Newsletter: Paryushan Mahaparva Day - 5
Share |


Dear Sadharmik brothers and sisters,
Jai Jinendra!

Today is fifth day of Paryushan Parva. Hope all are in sukh shata and lots of Anumodna to all the Tapasvis.

Let’s learn the last two tattvas and their relation with karma.

With a vision for World Peace, all sects of Jains are coming together to celebrate the World Navkar Day. See the details on how to participate.

I am glad to announce that a book on ‘16 Bhavanas’ by JAINA is now available on Amazon. See details below.

Mahesh Wadher
JAINA President

Nirjara (Exhaustion of the attached karma):

The attached karma exhaust themselves by producing their results when it is time for them to do so. At that time, new karma get attached to the soul.

Unless the attached karma is exhausted before they start producing the results, it becomes difficult for the soul to be free.

Therefore, it is necessary to exhaust all karmas before their maturity. This is done by rigorous austerities and penance. This process is called nirjara. called nirjara.

There are twelve types of nirjara defined in the Jain scriptures. They are divided into two groups; external nirjara which disciplines the human body against passions and desires and internal nirjara which purifies the soul. The internal nirjara is the true austerity because it exhausts the attached karma before their maturity from the soul.

External Nirjara:

Anasan Complete abstinence of eating any food and drinking liquid for certain time
Alpahara or Unodary Reduction in the quantity of food one normally eats
Ichhanirodha or Vritti Sankshep Limiting the number of food items to eat and material things for use
Rasatyaga Complete abstinence of eating or drinking juicy and tasty foods such as honey, alcohol, butter, milk, tea, sweets, juice, etc. (no attachments to the taste of the foods)
Kayaklesa Live and travel barefoot in severe heat and cold weather condition; remove hair with the hand
Samlinata Sitting in a lonely place in due posture with senses and mind withdrew inwardly

Internal Nirjara:

Prayaschita Repentance for the breach of vows for spiritual purification
Vinaya Politeness (appropriate behavior) towards teachers and elders
Vaiyavrata Rendering selfless service to the suffering and deserving
Svadhyaya Studying and listening to religious scriptures
Dhyana Religious meditation
Kayotsarg or Vyutsarga The ultimate internal austerity where the activities of body, speech, and mind are withdrawn. The body is fixed without movement, the speech is fixed by means of silence, and the mind is fixed by means of sublime meditation. This nirjara destroys all karmas.

Moksha (Liberation):

Moksha is the liberation of the soul after complete exhaustion or elimination of all karma. A liberated soul regains totally its original attributes of perfect knowledge, vision, power, and bliss. It climbs to the top of Lokakas and remains their forever in its blissful and unconditional existence. It never returns again into the cycles of birth, life, and death. This state of the soul is liberated or perfect state, and this is called "Nirvana."

Acharya Bhagwants, Guru Bhagwants and Sadhu-Sadhvijis of all sects will come together to echo the UNITY of Jin Shasan. Our Samvatsari may be different, but our Navkar is ONE!

With a vision for World Peace, Derasars, Upashrays, Dharma Sanukls and Sthanaks across the world will perform collective Navkar Mantra Jaap on one same day for an hour with one Bhaav i.e. on 1st September, Sunday | 7.00 – 8.00 AM IST.

To participate in this movement, contact: +916359909090.

Special Presence: A Kashmiri youngster, who has recited the Namaskar Mahamantra with immense ahobhaav for peace in the Kashmir Valley, will present her Navkar Mantra Aaradhna at this occasion in sanidhya of Rashtrasant Pujya Gurudevshree Namramuni Maharaj Saheb at Kolkata.

There is no enemy out of your soul. The real enemies live inside yourself, they are anger, pride, greed, attachments, and hate.

- Bhagwan Mahavir

kA paperback book on 16 Bhavanas published by JAINA is now available on Amazon! To see and purchase the book click here.

Bhagwan Mahavir gave us 12 Bhavanas or Reflections to help us drive out the evil thoughts, and invite the pure ones. These bhavanas explain the reality of our existence. In addition, Jain religion provides us with 4 other bhavanas that are action oriented. Whereas the 12 contemplative bhavanas explain the reality of our existence, these four bhavanas guide us about the virtues we need to develop. They are more action oriented and can be instrumental in improving our behavior and relationships with others.

In this book we bring you articles on all the sixteen Bhavans, originally published in the Jain Digest magazine during 2018. We hope you find these articles helpful in your spiritual journey.

(click on the above image)
Follow Us On

facebook link twitter link Instagram link Youtube link

Mail your Donations in favor of JAINA to : Ashok Savla (JAINA Treasurer), 8843 1/2 Longden Avenue, Temple City, CA 91780

You have received this email because you are currently subscribed to receive general correspondence. @@unsubscribe_url@@ if you no longer wish to receive these communications.
Sign In

Latest News