REGISTER   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Community Search
JAINA Committee - Constitution Article V

Standing, Operational and Ad-hoc Committees.
  1. The Executive Committee shall have the authority to appoint standing, operational and ad-hoc committees as needed. Standing committees are those which provide continuing services to the community to achieve the goals and objectives of the Federation. Members of a standing committee need not be members of the Board of Directors but the chairperson shall preferably be a member of the Board. Operational committees are those which are required to execute functions of the Federation. Ad Hoc committees are those which are established to accomplish a specific purpose. The ad-hoc committee should be dissolved once their task is completed unless new additional responsibilities JAINA Constitution & By-Laws as of January 15, 2009 5 are defined. A proposed Standing committee will be first appointed as an Ad-Hoc committee which can be converted to a standing committee after two years of successful operation.
  2. The scope and the charter of the committees shall be approved by the Executive Committee of the Federation. The committee charter shall subscribe to the objectives and procedures laid out in the By-Laws of this Constitution and By-Laws. The standing committees and its charter must be approved by the Board of Directors within two years after it being declared as a standing committee.
  3. The committee chair shall be responsible for the operation of the committee. The committee chair shall be responsible to present a yearly report to the President. The committee chair shall also present a long term and short term plan including budget projections as requested by the President.
  4. In case of a conflict between the committee charter and this Constitution and By-Laws, this Constitution and By-Laws shall prevail.
  5. Grandfather Provisions: For the purpose of applying the terms of this section, all current committees will be treated as if they are appointed upon approval of this constitutional amendment.


(a) Each committee shall be headed by a chairperson. The chairperson of a committee shall preferably be a member of the Board of Directors; the committee members need not be members of the Board. All standing committees will have an executive council JAINA Constitution & By-Laws as of January 15, 2009 17 consisting of a minimum of 3 members. This executive council will be responsible for the operation of the committee.

(b) The chairperson of every committee and the executive council of a standing committee shall be appointed by the Executive Committee. No chairperson can be reappointed after serving for 6 consecutive years. This time limit will be enforced after the ratification of these By-Laws.

(c) The term of the committee chair or its executive council will automatically terminate at the end of October after the election of the new Executive Committee. The Executive Committee must appoint or renew the appointment of the chairpersons of the standing committees before its term expires as provided in this paragraph.

(d) Only one person from a family living in the same household shall be a member of the same committee.

(e) The Executive Committee shall have authority to establish, restructure or dissolve committees as deemed necessary. Dissolution of a standing committee shall require an approval of the majority of Board of Directors by mail-in or secure on-line ballot. An operational committee can be dissolved by a majority of the Executive Committee or its work can be outsourced. An ad-hoc committee dissolves automatically upon expiry of its term but can be dissolved earlier by a two-thirds majority of the Executive Committee.

(f) Committees may use the Federation tax identification for collecting donations for their operation.

(g) All committees shall follow a standard operating procedures established by the Executive Committee. The committee members must hold meetings on a periodic basis and publish the minutes of the meetings.

(h) All decisions of the committee require a majority vote of the committee members.

(i) A committee can not spend or accrue liability that exceeds the fund balance in its account at any time. Any exception to this must be approved by a majority of the Executive Committee.

(j) All financial transactions made by the committee must abide by the rules laid out in paragraph 8 “Financial Transactions” of these By-Laws.

(k) Each committee will develop detailed guidelines to implement the Conflict of Interest Policy defined in section 8 of these By-Laws.

(l) Following Federation committees will be classified as Standing, Operational or Ad Hoc committees as below:

  • Academic Liaison
  • Academic Scholarship
  • Ahimsak Eco-Vegan
  • Award
  • Calendar & Mini Library
  • Constitution
  • Convention
  • Education
  • Election
  • Fundraising
  • Governmental & International / Public Affair Organizations Relations
  • IntrafaithActivities / World Council Of JAINS
  • International Relations (AD HOC)
  • Jain Center Liasion
  • Jain Diaspora
  • Jain Digest
  • Jain Milan
  • Jivdaya
  • JYEP (Jain Youth Exchange Program)
  • Loan Program
  • Long Range Planning
  • Media Production
  • Membership
  • Patron Program
  • Parliament Of World Religion
  • Pilgrimage (YATRA)
  • Public Relations & Media
  • Technology
  • Uplifting Underprivileged JAINS
  • Virchand Raghavji Gandhi
  • Wellness
  • Woman's Empowerment
  • World Community Service
(m) The operational committees required for the administrative functions of the Federation (e.g., Legal Advisory Committee, Media Production Committee, Book Stores Committee) shall report to the Secretary. The operational committees involved in fund raising for the general operation of the Federation (e.g., Patron Program Committee) shall report to the Treasurer for financial functions. Other committees shall report to the President.
Sign In

Latest News